John Stewart, 1935-2010

John Stewart was a top solo piper, gaining, among other prizes, the Braemar Gold Medal for Piobaireachd in 1969.

I was taught by John in 2005 and I loved his pleasant manner and musical approach to Piobaireachd. Like many pipers of his generation he had some wonderful stories – some of which I have on a recording made by a fellow New Zealand piper, Hugo Manson who is a professional oral historian. He was very encouraging to me and his recipe for Arbroath Smokie Soup is fantastic. I will always have warm memories of John.

clipped from www.pipesdrums.com

John Stewart, pipe-major of the Aberdeen Police Pipe Band in the 1970s and a pupil of John MacDonald of Inverness, died on January 13, aged 74.

One Response to John Stewart, 1935-2010

  1. Jack Grant says:

    I played with John in the above band in the 60s and early 70s. He was one of the nicest persons you could ever wish to meet and I was greatly saddened as were many others, to hear of his passing. The world will definitely be a poorer place without him. R.I.P John.

Leave a Reply

