2011 Silver Medal Tunes Announced

April 11, 2010

The Secretary of the Comunn na Piobaireachd NZ (CNP) Music Committee, Greg Wilson, today announced the Silver medal tunes for the 2011 contest to be held at the Hawke’s Bay Highland Games, Easter 2011.

The Clasp and Gold Medal tunes will be advised in May 2010. The CNP is awaiting the tunes from the UK Piobaireachd Society before the NZ list is published, as there will be some overlap.

The Silver Medal tunes are:

  1. The MacLeod’s Salute (Rowing Piobaireachd)- PS Bk 12.
  2. Lament for Isla Flora McLeod – DM Bk 1.
  3. Pipers Warning to his Master – PS Bk 12.
  4. Cronan Corrievreccan (The Corrievreccan Lullaby) – DM Bk 1.
  5. Lament, MacDonald of Kinlochmoidart No 1 – PS Bk 6.
  6. Castle Menzies – PS Bk 8.

The winner receives the First Prize and the Comunn na Piobaireachd (New Zealand) Inc Silver Medal. Former winners are not eligible to compete. Competitors are to submit 3 tunes chosen from the list of 6 Silver Medal tunes above, one of which they will be required to play. Entry to the Silver Medal competition is restricted to pipers who have not previously won the Silver Medal event and who are Pipers with a P&D Assn ‘B’ Grade or lower.  No medal will be awarded if the judges are of the opinion that the standard does not warrant the award.

DM = Donald MacLeod’s Collection of Piobaireachd Book 1

PS = Piobaireachd Society Collection


2009 Hawkes Bay Results

April 22, 2009
Well done the Piping & Dancing Association of New Zealand for getting the full Hawkes Bay Highland Games results out! Click on the link below to view.
clipped from www.piping-dancing.org.nz


Eade Wins Clasp. Lyons Gold. Jamie Hawke U21. Rowe Silver.

April 13, 2009

hastings09The following is a guest blog, from someone who, unlike me, was there.

The 2009 Hawkes Bay Highland Games were held under blue and windless skies.  The conditions provided none of the usual excuses for poor performances.

The Clasp event held high promise.  A field of 9 competitors was the largest for some time with a selection of tunes which, while testing, couldn’t be described as taxing.  Brendan Eade (pictured first on the left) was the deserving winner of the event with a fine and technically excellent rendition of The Unjust Incarceration on a well tuned bagpipe.

Iain Robertson was placed second playing The Earl of Seaforth’s Salute.The third place getter, George Mason, played The McRaes’ March.  Fourth place getter Nigel Foster, taking the notion of the Easter resurrection to his own solo bagpiping career, with his first tune at Hastings for ’20 odd’ years, provided a solid and enjoyable ‘Big Spree’.  Well done that man.

Alastair Munro and his company Dyechem deserve special mention for their very generous sponsorship of the Clasp Competition.  Despite the disappointments of some of this year’s performances, the Comunn na Piobiareachd Clasp remains the premier Piobaireachd competition in New Zealand.

Saturday’s competitions gave one of the Clasp performers a chance of redemption, which he seized with both hands on the chanter.  Jamie Hawke was the well deserved winner of the New Zealand Championship Under 21 Piobaireachd with a fine rendition of The Lament for the Viscount of Dundee.  Second was Callum Gilchrist with The Flame of Wrath.

In more recent history the Comunn na Piobaireachd Gold Medal has become something of an international event with two of the past 10 winners hailing from abroad.  2009 has brought a further international winner in the form of Ian Lyons (pictured above middle), currently based in Australia.  Ian played the McKays’ Banner for a deserved first prize and the Comunn na Piobaireachd Gold Medal.  Second prize went to Gary Stewart playing Nameless (Hiharan Dro o Dro), third prize to Scott Kennedy playing The King’s Taxes and fourth prize to Kevin Sinclair with The Piper’s Warning to His Master.

By all accounts, however, the standout event at the Games was the Comunn na Piobaireachd Silver Medal competition.  The judges expressed their pleasure at the universally high standard for this event.  The first prize and the Comunn na Piobaireachd Silver Medal winner was William Rowe (pictured above right) playing The Munros’ Salute.  As the winner of the Silver Medal William Rowe also received the Comunn na Piobaireachd Special Prize, being the complete volumes of the Binneas if Borreraig Collection.  Bruce Cawood is thanked for his generous sponsorship of the Silver Medal and the Special Prize.  Second was Terry Genet playing The Flame of Wrath.  Third prize was awarded to Andrew Broadbent and fourth to Simon Fraser.

Clasp, Gold & Silver Medal Competitors: Good Luck This Weekend

April 7, 2009

Piobaireachd is not known as the big music for nothing. It’s challenging to play, the tunes are often long and the pipes have to hold for the duration. What really makes it though is not its bigness, but its beauty and subtlety. Turn off your pop, hip hop, electronic and medley neurons and find the underused corner of your brain that likes a more ambient vibe….

Good luck everyone who is competing. I didn’t manage it this year, but I know how much work is required. Hats off to you!