Waikato Pipers Club Tri-series Standings

June 21, 2010

The following is a brief summary of some of the contest front runners. This is not comprehensive but gives those involved some idea where they currently stack up after 3 events (Waipu, Paeroa and Hastings). Remember that points were taken from selected events across those contests.

B grade
Phil Nielsen 13
Willie Rowe 11
Blair Hodson 9

C grade
Hayden Pullan 28
Scott Marshall 7
Andrez Maroz 6
Gordon Coombes 6
Piers Dover 6
Toma Naguchi 6

D grade
Raymond Lidgard 10
Cameron McKean 10
Amanda Kirk 8
Hamish Dick 8

Alyssa Cowie 8
Shaun Graham 6
Alex Hurley 6

As you can see apart from C-grade the contest is wide open. Entries close in a couple of weeks. For those who haven’t caught up the details, the Hamilton leg starts at 10am on 10th July. This is followed in the evening by a recital by Marion Horsburgh, Stuart Easton and Brendon Eade. Click here for details.

Waikato Pipers’ Club Tri-series Recital

June 10, 2010

Only a month to go until the final leg of the tri-series contest 2010. This will be followed by an evening event including prizewinners presentations and recitals by Marion Horsburgh, Stuart easton and Brendon Eade. The Waikato Pipers’ Club are hosting a recital in a different venue for the first time – at the Verandah cafe, Hamilton Lake (NOT the Hamilton Gardens). Click here to view the  flyer for more details.

Waikato Piper’s Club Hamilton Contest – July 10, 2010

April 9, 2010

The Waikato Piper’s Club (WPC) final tri-series event is to be held in Hamilton on Saturday July 10, 2010. This is in the school holidays to facilitate greater entries. The competition will begin at 10am.

Click here for all of the entry details.

The prize giving will take place at an evening recital given by Marion Horsborough, Stu Easton and Brendon Eade. It is envisaged that the major prize winners will also play at the evening event. Those wishing to attend the evening recital and prize giving can reserve tickets now – click here for details.

Results: Hamilton Gardens Solos

November 29, 2007

This competition was the first installment of the inaugural ‘Piping Tri-Series’ held by the Waikato Pipers Club (Inc). The tri series gives emerging players (B grade and down) a chance to compete for overall prizes based on a points system. The points are tallied over 3 contests – Hamilton Gardens, Tauranga (Feb 2nd 2008) and Paeroa tattoo (Feb 9th 2008). Players take the results from their best two weekends of competing out of the three to be put forward for the tallying. Prizes on offer – cash prizes on the day of competition for overall winners of each grade, tri-series prizes as follows – B -grade – set of Strathmore bagpipes, C-grade – Strathmore pipe chanter, D-grade – Strathmore special edition practice chanter, Novice – a full term’s tuition with the CNI Academy of Piping and Drumming. Overall prizes will be presented at the conclusion of the Paeroa solos contest.

As you can see a significant amount of organisation and funding has gone into preparing the series and the plan would be to continue the tri-series as an annual event. The points events are based on Piobaireachd, MSR playing – giving a strong emphasis on the core elements of solo piping. In the event of a tied points result (overall and daily) Piobaireachd preference is given.

Results from the Hamilton Garden Solos as follows

B Grade Piobaireachd
1st Andrew Broadbent (Paeroa) Sir James Macdonald of the Isles Lament
2nd Alistair Loan (Taupo) Corrienessan’s Salute
3rd James Nelson (PN) Lament for Alasdair Dearg

B Grade March Strathspey and Reel
1st Isaac Turner (Warkworth)
2nd James Nelson (PN)
3rd Jono MacColl (Te Awamutu)

B-Grade Overall winner – Andrew Broadbent (Piobaireachd preference)

C-Grade Piobaireachd (Ground and First Variation)
1st Donella May (Paraparaumu)
2nd George Stick (Christchurch)
3rd Sean Whyman (Warkworth)

C-Grade 2/4 March
1st Elise Norman (Waitoa)
2nd George Stick (Christchurch)
3rd Donella May (Paraparaumu)

C-Grade Strathspey and Reel
1st George Stick (Christchurch)
2nd Donella May (Paraparaumu)
3rd Elise Norman (Waitoa)

C-Grade Overall Winner George Stick

D-Grade Piobaireachd (Ground only)
1st Andrej Maroz (Auckland)
2nd Scott Miller (Hamilton)

D-Grade March
1st Scott Miller (Ham)
2nd Jason Kaan (Napier)
3rd Hayden Pullan (Ham)

D-grade Strathspey and Reel
1st Andrej Maroz (Auckland)
2nd Scott Miller (Ham)
3rd Hayden Pullan (Ham)

D-grade Overall Winner – Scott Miller

Novice March
1st Conor Hendry (Tauranga)
2nd Amanda Kirk (Tauranga)
3rd Marcel Van der Veeken (Auckland)

Novice Slow Air
1st Marcel Van der Veeken (Auckland)
2nd Conor Hendry (Tauranga)
3rd Amanda Kirk (Tauranga)

Novice overall winner – Conor Hendry

The Waikato Pipers club would like to thank all of the competitors for their efforts. The club was especially pleased to see competitors from out of the CNI catchment area to compete. Thanks also to the judges, Richard Hawke (B-grade) and Brian Switalla (C, D and Novice).